July 13, 2015

Dad,

I’m sorry this will be a short email, I’m running low on time. You have been, and still are, a great inspiration for me thank you.
 Spencer loves that RAV hope its not a big fix.  (Spencer is having some car repairs done.)
 I have been trying my hardest, and it’s not hard for me to love the people, even though their humor is a bit off. And I can always work harder to be obedient–I am trying hard though.
  My spiritual experience is something i would like to say in person, just know that it was a strong witness and has left me with no room to question whether the Book of Mormon is true. I know it’s true and I am so grateful for this experience, it came with a lot of prayer.
Love you,
From Elder Maughan
P.S. Tell Spencer I’m excited to see how good he gets at bike racing when I get back.

Dear Mom and Dad and everyone else,

This week has gone by in the blink of an eye. This last week we did a lot of street displays, we were in St. Hellen’s in their town center. It went really well. I saw a lot of Jehovah Witnesses. They make people not want to talk with us because they are so aggressive with their teaching, and they copy us–they’ve started to wear name tags. Its frustrating, but love thy enemy right? Anyway, I got to talk to many people during this display. One person that really stood out was this old guy who we stopped and taught a little.   He said that he use to be gay but that he always knew that it was wrong and he said he never really found happiness in it.   He says that now he is trying to get into heaven. I told him that life is really all about realizing our short comings and mistakes and that as we change ourselves and become more like our Savior we can be forgiven. He took a Book of Mormon and said he would read it everyday and would look for missionaries again. He also said he felt like a weight was lifted off of him. I hope he finds his way back to us so we can teach him the fullness of the gospel. It really showed me though how just by talking to these people and not even having to baptize them we can bring them closer to God.
I did go to the Preston Temple it was great. If we exercise every day for two months our mission President said we could go again. I have been taking care of my shoes. It’s starting to rain more often so I am trying to use the mink oil .
Our recent convert is doing well. We only taught her one lesson, the Word of Wisdom, and she completely accepted it. She had tea everyday but she stopped and we baptized her this last Saturday. One of the previous missionaries did the baptism, and one of the members did the confirmation and Gift of the Holy Ghost although I was in the circle. Funny thing, they have a really old font here so we had no clue how to get the hot water to go through it, so it was really cold. Oh well, like a river baptism I guess.
Their are so many people here who’s personal beliefs line up with our beliefs, but they will say ‘Oh I’m Catholic ‘  and I usually say something like ‘ Are you a practicing Catholic?’ and they’ll say ‘Once or twice a year I’ll go’ and then I will reply along the lines of ‘So why did you join the Catholic Church?  Did you get a witness or pray about it?’ and they will say ‘ Well I went to Catholic school or I don’t know’ and then I will try to say ‘ Wel,l we believe that you can gain more faith through asking God in prayer what is true ‘ and I will then tell them how I read the Book of Mormon and prayed to know if it was true, and thankfully i have, and I have gained that witness of the book so I can tell them that I know that it is true.
 Of course I run into some really odd people, and most of the time they just swear at us and go on their way, but sometimes they try to Bible bash or they have some crazy beliefs like this Gypsey guy we ran into, he tried to Bible bash but could only talk about the gift of tongues and how he received it in their church and they all started to talk in different languages. Yeah, lots of different ideas here.
Anyway,  there are some of the stories that happened this week.   It was a very good week. And i will email you all again.
From Elder Maughan

Leave a Reply

