August 17, 2015

Mom

I love you and dad and I love your weekly letters. I am glad that you liked my journal entries. I am not very good at typing a whole lot at once so they really help. Also, a week goes by so fast I can’t remember most of it.
  I invited a couple to baptism this week after teaching them the Restoration.  They are both in their 70’s.The husband said yes (his name is Harry) the wife ( believes what we taught her) she just needs to hear the rest of the lessons. They are the couple mentioned in my journal.

Here is my weekly journal…..

August, 8, 2015
Today we did “12 weeks” in the morning. Then we did our solo street display in Blackpool. It went well. We ran into an Italian man who lived in America for most of his life, he was interested and gave us his number. Then I ran into a man named Emag, he was very curious and wanted to learn more, he actually let me talk which was odd, no one ever lets me actually teach a full lesson. It was so successful, we got four investigators. Then we went looking for FI–they have all moved.

August 10 2015
Today was my first p-day in Blackpool, shopping here was more expensive. I think we got enough food for two weeks though. Karina and Paul dropped us today. Me and Elder Fernandez refused to let that get us down, we decided to get two more investigators that minute. So we went out street contacting and tracking, the first person we met we were directed to say just the right things. Then after tracking a few rough doors, an older gentleman man opened his door, he said that he was very religious and that he and his wife were in a lot of pain from traveling. Elder Fernandez offered a blessing and he said he would like one. We gave each of them a blessing and you could feel the Spirit. We asked if we could come back he said that it would be wonderful to have use back, and on our way out the door he commented on how that was the strongest he’s felt the Spirit. Great day the Lord blessed us with 3 PI’s, I can’t express how grateful I am to the Lord for that experience.

August 11 2015
Making our way to the first district meeting….We got up at 6:30am today and showered fast, and got ready to ride our bikes to the train station for district meeting. After a 30 min bike ride we got to the station. Then we rode the train to Preston Station, Virgins Trains told us that we couldn’t put our bikes on the train without making reservations. So we waited 30 minutes for a non-Virgins Train. We got back and used our lunch break to get a hair cut, we needed it. We then did some tracting then when to our dinner appointment and we did “Twelve weeks”, a very uneventful day. Hopefully tomorrow will be better.
‘In this age, we find ourself out of line, with need for a greater guide tho we will not find this guide in men, but in God.’ Quote from someone.

August 12 2015
Today we did a street display from twelve to four. The beginning was great. But then was a bit slow. There were a few semi-bashers. The man I was talking to had a belief in the Bible while also thinking it was false. He believes that God is just information and just not any shape or form. It was hard to teach him because I used the Bible as a reference for him at first, but he said that he only believes in the gospel of John, so I couldn’t teach him cause he already “knew everything”. Besides that the street display went perfectly. I just need to know when the person isn’t teachable. Then we had a tea appointment then “12 weeks”.

August 13 2015
I am grateful for the life I have and have had, if the rest of my life was misery I would still praise God everyday for what I have been given. Today was very normal day. Except we ran into a man who was an investigator, now hates God for taking away his son. He supposes that he will just repent a few minutes before he dies and be forgiven. I didn’t have the heart to say ‘that can’t work because you haven’t truly changed if you knowingly try to fool God’. I told him that his child is in the Celestial Kingdom, but I needed to tell him more. You can never be too bold but you can be insensitive, I guess that’s why we need charity.

August 14 2015
Today we fixed the area books. We found that almost no work has been done in South Blackpool. So we went down to southern Blackpool just to look for a few FI’S. We ended up not finding any of our FI’S. We stopped a lady on the street and just asked her plainly if she wanted to learn more, and she said yes, so she told us her address and made an appointment for tomorrow.

August 15 2015
We got a commitment to baptism today! The older couple that we gave a blessing to want to get baptised. The husband is for sure getting baptised, the wife will probably get baptised. Brother McLucas is a brilliant member of our ward, he was the first member to come out to our street display today, and he’s gone to all of our member missionary lessons, he’s amazing. A really good day!

August 16 2015
Today was Sunday, this Sunday centred around missionary work. The stake mission leader came and gave a great talk, and we had a meeting with him where he explained a big change that is going to happen that will effect the entire church (in England at least). It will make missionary work easier and will make church more community oriented, anyway that’s all I can say about that for now, I liked what I heard in the meeting, and I think we will see some great things come from it.

There’s the journal. Sorry for any mistakes, unfortunately I make an a lot of them.

I love you all. Sorry I couldn’t write all of you this week, I will email all of you next week.

Mom, I love you and I am glad you and dad are having fun.

Elder Maughan

Leave a Reply

